Annual Award Recognizes Best Article in AAPG Bulletin

former senior executive at Shell, David Lawrence gained significant international experience in the oil and gas industry and traveled to more than 40 countries around the globe. While at Shell, David Lawrence held leadership positions in several industry organizations, spoke at major conferences, and received the Wallace E. Pratt Memorial Award from the American Academy of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG).

Each year, AAPG gives the Pratt Award to the author(s) of the best articles published in the AAPG Bulletin. While AAPG’s editor solicits Wallace E. Pratt Memorial Award recommendations from the publication’s associate editors, AAPG does accept recommendations from outside sources. After the editor reviews nominations, nominees are presented to the chair of AAPG’s honors and awards committee for additional consideration. In addition, award winners undergo review by the organization’s advisory council and executive committee before final selection. Wallace E. Pratt Memorial Award winners receive $1,500 in cash along with a certificate to commemorate their achievement.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s